Automobile Collisions Involving Uninsured or Underinsured DriversRequest Free Consultation
Insurance issues inevitably arise after serious car wrecks. In these cases, the negligent driver is ultimately responsible to pay for the damages he or she caused. This includes compensation for medical bills and lost wages in addition to losses such as physical pain, emotional distress, and subsequent inconvenience.
What Are Colorado’s Car Insurance Requirements?
Colorado drivers are required to have insurance in order to operate their vehicles legally on the roadway. State law mandates the minimum insurance required for drivers. If drivers in Colorado fail to carry the required minimum insurance amounts, they could face significant fines, the suspension or revocation of their driver’s license, or even jail time. Additionally, the failure to carry insurance could result in drivers being held personally liable for any damages or injuries they cause in an accident.
Unlike other states, Colorado does not require the at-fault party to disclose the amount of available insurance before a lawsuit is filed. However, once a lawsuit is filed, the defendant must disclose the amount of insurance that is available within 30 days of being served with the Complaint.
Colorado Auto Insurance minimums
The State of Colorado mandates that drivers carry the following minimum limits on their policies:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $15,000 per accident
Bodily injury liability coverage is paid on behalf of an at-fault driver to others who may have been injured in the collision.
Property damage liability coverage is paid on behalf of an at-fault driver to others who may have sustained property damage due to the collision.
Bodily injury liability and property damage liability are the only types of coverage required in Colorado, but it is strongly recommended that motorists consider purchasing additional types of insurance, as well as the policy limits above the minimums mentioned above.
Are uninsured or underinsured coverages required?
Uninsured and underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage is required by default in Colorado. (However, you can opt out by signing a waiver.) This type of coverage is highly recommended. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage protects drivers when they get into an accident with others who are either uninsured or whose policy limits are not sufficient to cover the damages. This type of coverage will also benefit those who are struck by hit and run drivers.
The best way to know what options are available to you, and which legal strategy is best suited to your specific situation is to discuss your case for free with one of our experienced Denver car accident lawyers. We will listen to your side of the story and provide a no-cost, no-obligation assessment of the potential strength of your case.
Other types of insurance available to Colorado drivers
There are various other types of insurance that could benefit drivers in Colorado. This includes the following:
- MedPay.$5,000 in Medpay coverage is also required in Colorado. (Again, you can opt out of by signing a waiver.) But it is highly recommended to have both UM/UIM and Medpay because if you are hit by an uninsured driver, this will be the only insurance coverage available. This type of coverage can provide coverage for medical bills for you and any passengers in your vehicle at the time an accident occurs, and will be paid regardless of which party causes the accident.
- Collision coverage. This type of insurance is used to pay for damage to your vehicle regardless of which party was at fault for the incident.
- Comprehensive coverage. This type of insurance is used to cover damage to your vehicle caused by something other than a vehicle collision, including flood, fire, theft, falling objects, etc.
Insurance is necessary and important
When we turn to data available from the Colorado Department of Transportation, we can see that there were 121,22 total vehicle collisions across the state during the latest reporting year. Vehicle accidents are a reality. Even the safest drivers can be involved in collisions caused by the careless or negligent actions of others around them. By carrying as much UIM/MedPay coverage as you can reasonably afford, you are protecting yourself and others.
If you have more questions regarding an accident with an underinsured or uninsured driver, turn to a personal injury lawyer at Fuicelli & Lee for help with your case today. We are ready to conduct a complete investigation into the crash in order to secure the compensation you need. Call our Denver office at (303) 444-4444 to schedule a free case evaluation.