Car accidents are burdensome enough when everything works out smoothly. If the other driver is at fault, their insurance is supposed to pay to make everything right again. This often includes repairing or replacing your automobile, paying your medical bills, and compensating you for any missed time at work because of injuries. When a driver with no insurance hits you, this significantly complicates the legal process and puts a whole new dynamic on the situation.
According to the Insurance Research Council, approximately 14 percent of drivers across the nation are uninsured. Claims data for 2009 indicated that 15% of Colorado motorists are uninsured. The following will help explain your rights in the event you are involved in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
The state of Colorado mandates that all automobiles are to be insured. Additionally, proof of that insurance is required when you are registering a vehicle and every time you are driving. To help keep tabs on uninsured drivers, the state cross references the list of registered vehicles with a list of insured vehicles supplied by all Colorado insurance companies. When uninsured vehicles are detected, a notice is sent to the owners.
Regardless, many motorists still allow their coverage to lapse, or simply don’t carry enough coverage to meet minimum state requirements.
To meet Colorado’s auto insurance requirements, a driver must be able to provide proof of the following coverage:
Colorado is a “fault” insurance state which means the person responsible for causing the accident is also responsible for paying all victims’ medical bills and property damage. If the responsible party is uninsured and, therefore unable to cover those expenses, you may be able to file a liability claim with your provider. However, you may find yourself at odds with your own insurance company. They may contend that you were partially at fault and reduce your compensation.
Drivers are not required under Colorado law to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist protection. However, many drivers elect to add it to their policies because it affords extra protection if you are involved in an accident with an at-fault driver who is uninsured or not insured sufficiently to cover your losses.
If you have been in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, obtain their contact information including any insurance information they may have, or a sworn statement claiming they have none, which your insurance provider may require.
If you have suffered injuries in a car accident in Longmont or elsewhere in the state of Colorado, it is important that you contact an experienced and qualified Longmont car accident attorney immediately. If the “at fault” driver was not insured, it is even more imperative that you speak to an attorney as soon as possible.
For a free initial consultation with Fuicelli & Lee, PC, send us an e-mail or call (720) 494-0444. You pay nothing unless you receive a financial settlement or award. It is simply the mission of every Longmont auto accident attorney on the Fuicelli & Lee team to provide the best service possible.
In Denver, Craig Hospital offers a variety of programs for people with brain injuries As we have d…Read More
Know your rights and insurance company responsibilities When you enter into a contract with a car i…Read More
Fuicelli & Lee, PC Settles Car Accident for $462,500.00
The high settlement was no accident. I watched how hard Keith worked to get us to that point. Because of Keith’s hard work, I am now in a position to concentrate on fixing my pain with continued treatment.
Fuicelli & Lee, PC Negotiates Policy Limit Settlement of $250,000
Mr. Fuicelli is very accessible which is extremely important just in case you have a question or important information to pass along to him. He stays on top of your case with complete dedication and always updates you with information pertinent to your case.